Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to footer

Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC)

Under the Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act (EPCRA), Local or Tribal Emergency Planning Committees (LEPCs/TEPCs) must develop an emergency response plan, review the plan at least annually, and provide information about chemicals in the community to citizens. Plans are developed by LEPCs with stakeholder participation. There is one LEPC for each of the more than 3,000 designated local and tribal emergency planning districts. The LEPC membership must include (at a minimum):

  • Elected state, local, and tribal officials;
  • Police, fire, civil defense, and public health professionals;
  • Environment, transportation, and hospital officials;
  • Facility representatives; and
  • Representatives from community groups and the media.

Pender County LEPC Officers (2023)

  • Chair: Sarah Taylor, Pender County Emergency Management
  • Vice-Chair: James Horne, Surf City Emergency Management
  • Secretary: Kira Frawley, Pender County Health Department

Meetings (held at the Pender County EOC)

  • November 30th, 2022 (initial kickoff meeting) (view minutes)
  • January 18th, 2023 @ 1030am
  • March 15th, 2023 @ 1030am
  • May 17th, 2023 @ 1030am
  • July 19th, 2023 @ 1030am
  • September 20th, 2023 @ 1030am
  • November 15th, 2023 @ 1030am
Translate »