Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to footer

Board of County Commissioners

Pender County is governed by a five-member, Board of Commissioners, elected at large to serve four-year terms. Terms are staggered so that, every two years, two or three commissioner seats are up for election. The Board enacts policies such as the establishment of the property tax rate, regulation of land use and zoning outside municipal jurisdictions, and adoption of the annual budget. Commissioners must reside within the district they represent, however, they are elected to serve all the people of Pender County. See Map of Districts…

The Board of Commissioners meets on the first and the third Monday of each month at 4:00 p.m.

All meetings are open to the public and are held at the Public Assembly Room located at 805 South Walker Street, Burgaw, NC 28425 unless otherwise noted. Public Comment is accepted at all meetings at designated times on the agenda. Click here to view BOCC meeting agendas, minutes, and videos. Meeting agendas are generally posted on the website before 11 a.m. on the Friday preceding the meetings and videos are generally posted the next business day. Questions regarding the meetings can be directed to the County Manager’s office at 910-259-1200.

Brad George
District 1
North Hampstead, Topsail Beach, Surf City
Party: Republican Term: 2023-2024
Jackie Newton
District 4
Atkinson, Currie, Penderlea, Watha, Willard
Party: Republican Term: 2020-2024
Jerry Groves
District 3
Rocky Point, Long Creek
Party: Republican Term: 2022-2026
Fred McCoy
District 5
Burgaw, St. Helena, Maple Hill
Party: Republican Term: 2020-2024
Translate »